Orange Is Not The New Black

IMG_3199

Hey guys. Happy new month. February already, eh? The month of love amongst other things. 😉 There’s quite a bit going on this month… I have a feeling it’s going to be an exciting one.
Colours, I have said many times before, makes the world…a better place  more vibrant.  I’m not about to tell you how orange is the new black but wait, let’s face it; it’s a darn pretty cool colour, right?However, orange can also be tricky as you don’t want the look being garish, but rather stylish. The key thing is to create a balance by toning down with a neutral colour.IMG_3184IMG_3183 Today’s outfit, I feel, is one of those that portrays very aptly my ambivert personality. It’s quite out there yet also conservative enough. It’s easily my favourite work outfit at the moment. Every single item in this outfit is a key piece in my wardrobe. IMG_3186IMG_3185IMG_3196IMG_3197IMG_3182I had come across this skirt online on St Stephen’s Day. On River Island, of course and thought it was worthy of a purchase. I’m loving roll necks at the moment, especially for work. I was on the search for roll necks in different colours and had planned to take Penney’s by storm during my Dublin trip to pick up a few. I then randomly came across this ribbed black one online, again in the River Island sale. Ladies (and possibly gentlemen), what I saw when the order arrived gave me one of those moments when I’m happy I’m an open-minded online shopper. The skirt looked much much better live than it did online. It has a mesh-like material that is quite unique, yet the shape and style is so well tailored and structured. The colour, length, shape and pockets were also features that made it a must-have for me. Oh and the little slit…! There to add more drama but short enough to still make you look every bit of a lady that you are. In other words, it was €14 well spent! (River Island, stay as you are and you will forever be BAE!) This particular skirt is no longer available but RI still have similar ones in stock which you can find  here. The roll neck top is also available here.IMG_3201 IMG_3188I opted to pair the top and skirt with this beautiful Zara blazer I found in the sale. I wasn’t even shopping when I found it. On this fateful day, I walked into Zara to meet a friend and as I chatted away, my eye caught the blazer and I couldn’t drop it. I knew straight away that I wanted to seal this outfit with it. Those matchmaking moments when you just know exactly how you want to style an item gives me so much thrill as a stylist and personal shopper. Finally, as it’s still quite cold and I couldn’t leave the house without a coat, I opted to complete the look with my rust-toned sleeveless trench coat from River Island. I pretty much lived in this coat in the autumn and now that spring is round the corner, I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of it. IMG_3202

Hope you like the complete look. What do you guys think? Let me know how you’re styling orange this season and what other colours you’re more drawn to?

Sumbonita.xx

II Skirt:River Island II Roll neck Top:River Island II Blazer:Zara II Boots:Carvela

Photography by Claire Nash

2 thoughts on “Orange Is Not The New Black”

Leave a Reply

