Phenomenal Women

_MG_4373Happy International Women’s Day. 🙂I love that there are so many facets to being a woman; so complicated yet so simple. I like the woman that I am now but even more so, look forward to loving the woman that I am becoming…will become. I celebrate all the great women out there; from the market women who work night and day to provide for their families to the executives at the peak of their careers and female leaders making history all over the world. To the students trying to make headway in life whilst trying to keep a job to the housewives whose days are spent building, maintaining their homes and being the helpmates for their husbands. We all have our various stages- some obviously bigger than others. Whatever stage you’ve been given or whatever platform you’ve created yourself, make it count. Do it passionately, do it excellently. That’s a motto I’m personally trying to live by this year onwards._MG_4374To celebrate the beauty of womanhood today, I opted for a simple but classic style with this houndstooth dress from Zara, paired with black court shoes. I’m a girly girl so I love dresses because they’re just so feminine and come in all forms. Dresses generally have an elegant tone to them. Elegance- my favourite look. Elegance never goes out of style. It isn’t necessarily extravagant. It’s classic, it’s timeless. There’s something about a graceful poise in a woman, a warm smile, a genuine heart, a classy demeanour. It’s not in the amount of money spent on clothes, but how you wear it. It’s how you carry yourself , carry others along as well as the sense you ooze._MG_4376 I celebrate the phenomenal women in my life. My mother: my prayer warrior, my quiet but sturdy, faithful rock. I got my love from shopping from my mum even though she’ll never admit it. You taught me the value of being financially independent and being a hard-working woman. I love you so much and thank you for all you’ve done for me and continue to do. One of my biggest goals in life is to make you proud- to always make you proud.                                                                                My two (biological) sisters: I celebrate the beautiful, great women you’re growing into. My supporters, my day-one’s.  We fight, we fight even more, we make up, we laugh, we cry. I love you dearly and strive to be a leading example for you two._MG_4387

My non-biologal sisters: The friends who have become sisters; the ones who encourage, inspire, challenge, (sometimes annoy) me. :-)We grow together, we hold each other’s hands. You know yourselves so I won’t name names. Some I see often enough, some we have long distance relationships. Through the hundreds to the thousands of miles that separate us, you continue to be there. For the encouragement, particularly with this blog, I am most grateful and value your presence in my life._MG_4389 There are a number of women in my life across all walks of life who have influenced me in one or the other. Older female figures, peers, friends, professionals, ministers, leading business women, I celebrate you all.

Last and in no way or form the least, the faithful followers, readers and supporters of TEL- I celebrate you all today. I appreciate your follower-ship, your encouragement and kind words. These are still days of humble beginnings but I hope you’ll stick around with me in this journey to greatness. 🙂

_MG_4393

Girls compete with each other, WOMEN support, challenge and encourage each other. I love you all.

Love,                                                                                                                                                      Sumbonita

Outfit details: Dress- Zara, Shoes: Aldo, Wristwatch: D&G, Bag: Mango

2 thoughts on “Phenomenal Women”

Leave a Reply

