Colour popping in the Midlands 

 They say you never know what you have until it’s gone. This certainly is true of myself and my relationship with the beautiful island of Ireland.Whilst in this case, what I had isn’t really gone (thankfully), it’s less accessible to me as it used to be. As a young girl, I lived here and didn’t think anything special of it. In fact, I thought I couldn’t wait to get out because it was often times so boring, dull and uneventful. As soon as I wrote my last exam for my masters degree, I packed my things in my Yaris the next day and headed for the big city. There was so much beauty that I failed to see because I was focusing on the wrong things. It took moving to London for me to realise the gem that is the Emerald Isle. Now, I try to make the most of rekindling this love affair with Ireland every time I’m home. Last weekend, I spent some time in the midlands- Athlone to be precise.The Irish/English weather hasn’t been the best lately. With the potential of all four seasons captured in a day, many have given up on catching a tan again this year on home turf. But alas, some of us have held on to the faith of the return of the sun. As fate would have it, last weekend saw this dream come true, albeit it was only very briefly. Seeing as it was my birthday, I felt like God was smiling down at me as the glorious sunshine hit my skin as we sailed across Lough Ree on a pleasure craft. Today’s outfit post was perfect for the beautiful, radiant day that last Saturday was. No better place to shoot this look than the streets of Athlone with its coulourful town centre backdrop.Featuring a pink shirt with back detail from Zara and a floral jacquard mini skirt from River island, the duo never looked so good against the background of this quaint, medieval town in the heart of the country.  Completing the look with my yellow plimsolls and yellow Pia Saasi bag, I love how playful and vibrant the look turned out.Statement earrings are having their moment right now. And about time too because we all know how good accessories can uplift an outfit and give it that extra sass. This pair from Zara (also featured in my previous post) are my current faves. Don’t you just love how they pop!😉

I hope you like the entire look.

The Emerald Lass.xox

Random fact: Did you know that Athlone in the 70’s was once proposed to be made the capital city of a federal United Ireland?

Photography by Steven Beatsmith

Top:Zara II Skirt:River Island II Plimsolls:Topshop(sold out) similar  II Earrings:Zara II Oversized sunglasses:Topshop

4 thoughts on “Colour popping in the Midlands ”

Leave a Reply

