Stripes and Hypes

imageLearn the rules like a pro so you can break them like an artist. – Pablo Picasso. Happy new week, beauts. Hope you’ve had a great weekend and enjoying what the weather “gods” are offering us as summer. It may not be perfect but it’s still something. As with anything in life, no point in complaining about what you don’t have but rather enjoy and make the most of what you do have.😉imageimage
Today’s post is all about the hype of stripes. We are upping the style stakes today with some double stripes situation. You know what they say, when one set of stripes is not enough, add another. No, no one actually says that but you get the gist. 😝image
What’s all the hype with off-shoulder, you ask? Off shoulder doesn’t seem to be going anywhere this summer. And why should it? It’s stylish and in my opinion not restricted to a certain body type. And I’ve always found that there’s something elegant and feminine about Bardot even in its most casual forms. This navy and white striped Boohoo number is no exception. I rarely shop from Boohoo but I had seen this on Asos and loved it. I saw the light blue version first and actually seen it worn by a number of fab ladies and bloggers. When I couldn’t decide, I bought both. Perhaps, I’ll feature the light blue one sometime on the blog. Boohoo, I’ve come to discover is a little haven of amazing quirky pieces. I can’t wait to share with you some of the other items I’ve recently copped from Boohoo albeit via ASOS. imageimage
My initial plan was to style this with a pair of dark (indigo) jeans. On the morning of the shoot, these Oasis striped pencil-legged pants popped into my head so I tried them with the top not sure what to expect. I absolutely loved the look so there was no going back. The plan was to complete the look with my most worn (blogging) shoes-my White RI barely there sandals. Imagine my pain when I got to the shoot location only to realise I had only taken one foot of the pair. Improvising on the spot, I opted for these purple-heeled court shoes that had been given to me years ago by one of our female pastors in church who happens to be one of the most elegant and classiest ladies I know, not to mention a massive supporter of The Emerald Lass. She’s also a designer and I will be introducing her brand to you in a separate post in the not so distant future.imageimage
The final piece of the puzzle was this novelty-style clutch bag I purchased from ASOS. Quirky pieces like this are stuffs made out of dreams for me!  I love love this perfume-bottle shaped Claudia Canova bag and thought it was the perfect accessory to what has now become one of my favourite looks of this summer. I can’t wait to go away soon and re-vamp this look.

That’s it for today…have a fantastic week.

Love, Sumbonita.xx

Off-shoulder top:Boohoo and here:ASOS II Striped trousers:Oasis II Bag:ASOS II Sunglasses:Michael Kors

Photography by Ope Olusola

2 thoughts on “Stripes and Hypes”

  1. I loved everything about this outfit. Starting from pattern on pattern to the shoes. And that bag has made it to my shopping wish list.. Loved it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

