Pretty Powerful

image

I like being a woman, even in a man’s world. Afterall, men can’t wear dresses but we can wear the pants. Happy International Women’s day to all the beautiful ladies across the world. imageimage

To celebrate the occasion, I’m sharing an outfit that makes me feel very womanly. Being a woman for me is perfecting the balancing act; strong yet so soft, placing yourself as the most important person in your life yet knowing that you’re not here for you but to make someone’s life better even in little ways. It’s about recognising your weaknesses and chanelling your strengths into accepting and where possible, improving rather masking your flaws.

image image Today’s post features this Airtex mesh skater dress from Topshop. The powder blue colour was the first thing I fell in love with. I love soft hues like this; for me, they’re so feminine and sweet.

The style of this dress was the next thing to get my attention. Skater dresses are perfect for small framed girls like me, thanks to the fit and flare nature of the style. But it also works for most body types. The Airtex mesh material is unusual and combined with the structured shape makes for a perfect fit. I generally dislike cut-outs in dresses. I personally find that they tend to look borderline tacky, if care isn’t taken. This particular cut-out to the front of the dress doesn’t give too much away and still pulls off an elegant yet chic look.

image image

As a 20-something year old woman trying to find her place in this world where society tries to dictate to you what you should be doing, when and of course not forgetting how, I’ve come to accept that vulnerable, I may be at times but my strength lies in my acceptance of my weaknesses and my willingness to not give up nor give in. My strength lies in the uniqueness of my person. My strength lies in the comfort that I am not the first nor will I be the last to go through whatever it is I may be experiencing. My strength lies in the fact that I know who I am; I’m walking in power and I’m walking in victory even though it may not always seem that way. My strength lies in knowing that my story, could somehow help someone I don’t even know.  My strength lies in knowing who my Father is.

Whatever womanhood denotes for you, whatever part of the world you’re in, no matter how old you are or what you look like, I hope that you will always remember, in Obama’s words, to carry on the work of the women who came before us and ensure our daughters have no limits on their dreams, no obstacles to their achievements and no remaining ceiling to shatter.

Sumbonita.xx

Dress: Topshop I Sandals: River Island I Earrings: River Island

Photography: CJ Nash

6 thoughts on “Pretty Powerful”

  1. Interesting read as always. Although last time I checked, men have started trying dresses out too. CJ Nash, does a great job in highlighting some silent details 🙂

    Keep on keeping on!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

